Delivery to Metropolitan France at only €0.01 for purchases of €35 or more, from February 22 to March 4, 2024

Sur les traces de rene caillie

The Mali of 1828 Revisited

by Pierre Viguier (writer)
Collection: Hors Collection
december 2008
[NR] format 176 pages In stock
28,40 €
[NR] format Download after purchase
18,99 €
[NR] format 176 pages Download after purchase
18,99 €
Référencer ce produit sur votre site


René Caillié, the man who decided to be "the first European to travel to Timbuktu and back", reached southern Mali at Tingréla in January 1928, and left it three months later on the fringes of the Sahara, having covered almost 1200 kilometres, on foot as far as Djenné, in a dugout to Timbuktu, and on to Morocco in a camel train. Pierre Viguier authenticates René Caillié's trip through Mali with remarkable precision, based on the traveller's travel journal and contemporary maps. As he does so, he comments on the journal's notes on the local climatic conditions, vegetation, people, trade, inter-ethnic relations, etc, against the historical backdrop of the 19th century in this region of Moyen Niger.
This "trip" to Niger confirms, if confirmation were needed, the existence of an authentic Sudano-Sahelian civilization with a largely self-sufficient economy and living in harmony with its biotope, and also capable of exporting.This book is as lively as it is learned, and will thus be of interest to scientists, Africa specialists, and indeed anyone who loves the continent.

Table of contents




René Caillié
Itinéraire au Mali

1re partie - De Tingréla à Djenné

De Tangréra à Siracana

Première étape – De Tangréra (Tingréla) à Fara
Deuxième étape – De Fara à Bangoro à (Gonkoro)
Troisième étape – De Bangoro (Gonkoro) à Débéna
Quatrième étape – De Débéna à Tiara (Sialla)
Cinquième étape – De Tiara (Sialla) à Douasso (Doubasso)
Sixième étape – De Douasso (Doubasso à Siracana (Ouaracana)

De Siracana à Touriat
Septième étape – De Siracana (Ouaracana) à Fara (Fala)
Huitième étape – De Fara (Fala) à Missabougou (Messabougou)
Neuvième étape – De Missabougou (Messabougou) à Badiarana (Badiana)
Dixième étape – De Badiarana (Badiana à Timbala (Tondjila)
Onzième étape – De Timbala (Tondjila) à Touriat (Tiola)

De Touriat à Toumané
Douzième étape – De Touriat (Tiola) à Khoukhola (Souchiéna)
Treizième étape – De Khoukhola (Souchiéna) à Sérasso (Zaminiasso)
Quatorzième étape – De Sérasso (Zaminiasso à Oulasso (Sibirifina)
Quinzième étape – De Oulasso (Sibirifina) à Facibrisso
Seizième étape – De Facibrisso à Toumané (Doumanaba)

De Toumané à Sanasso
Dix-septième étape – De Toumané (Doumanaba) à Gulasso (Ngolasso)
Dix-huitième étape – De Gulasso (Ngolasso) à Chesso (environs de Fo)
Dix-neuvième étape – De Chesso (environs de Fo) à Pala (Gala)
Vingtième étape – De Pala (Gala) à Maconeau (Makono)
Vingt et unième étape – De Maconeau (Makono) à Couara (Kouaro)
Vingt-deuxième étape – De Couara (Kouaro) à Douasso (Ntosso)
Vingt-troisième étape – De Douasso (Ntosso) à Sanasso (Sangasso)

De Sanasso à Sanço
Vingt-quatrième étape – De Sanasso (Sangasso) à Garo (Ngaré)
Vingt-cinquième étape – De Garo (Ngaré) à Béré (Bélesso)
Vingt-sixième étape – De Béré (Bélesso) à Nibakhasso (Noubasso)
Vingt-septième étape – De Nibakhasso (Noubasso) à Ouattouro (Watarasso)
Vingt-huitième étape – De Ouattouro (Wattarasso) à Saraclé (Sirakélé)
Vingt-neuvième étape – De Saraclé (Sirakélé) à Bamba (Barhamba)
Trentième étape – De Bamba (Barhamba) à Sanço (Sanso)

De Sanço à Kouriban-Sanço
Trentième et unième étape – De Sanço (Sanso) à Saga (Gassasso)
Trente-deuxième étape – De Saga (Gassasso) à Coloni (Koloni)
Trente-troisième étape – De Coloni (Koloni) à Bancousso (Bougounso)
Trente-quatre étape – De Bancousso (Bougounso) à Gnapié
Trente-cinquième étape – De Gnapié à Kouriban-Sanço (Kassarola)

De Kouriban-Sanço à Somo
Trente-sixième étape – De Kouriban-Sanço (Kassarola) à Kimpana (Kimparana)
Trente-septième étape – De Kimpana (Kimparana) à Carabara (Karaba)
Trente-huitième étape – De Carabara (Karaba) à Nénesso
Trente-neuvième étape – De Nénesso à Nomou (Noungosso)
Quarantième étape – De Nomou (Noungosso) à Taméro (Tamaro)
Quarante et unième étape – De Taméro (Tamaro) à Syenço (Sienso)
Quarante-deuxième étape – De Syenço (Sienso) à Somou (Somo)

De Somou à Matina
Quarante-troisième étape – De Somou (Somo) à Kinina (Kaminiankoro)
Quarante-quatrième étape – De Kinina (Kaminiankoro) à Kirina
Quarante-cinquième étape – De Kirina à Foudouca (Fondankan)
Quarante-sixième étape – De Foudouca (Fondankan) à Médina (Matina)

De Médina à Jenné
Quarante-septième étape – De Médina (Matina) à Counignan (Konian)
Quarante-huitième étape – De Counignan (Konian) à Manianan (Madiama)
Quarante-neuvième étape – De Manianan (Madiama) à Tomga (Tonbonka)
Cinquantième étape – De Tomga (Tonbonka) à Galia
Cinquantième et unième étape – De Galia à Jenné (Djenné)

Séjour à Djenné

2e partie - De Djenné à Tombouctou

De Jenné à Sankha-Guiliba

Première étape – De Jenné (Djenné) à 10 kilomètres en amont de Soufara (Sofora)
Deuxième étape – De De 10 kilomètres en amont de Soufara (Sofara) à Couna (Kouna)
Troisième étape – De Couna (Kouna) à Sankha-Guiliba (Saré-Malé)

De Sankha-Guiliba aux environs de Saya
Quatrième étape – De Sankha-Guiliba (Saré-Malé) à Isaca (Mopti)
Journée à Isaca (futur Mopti)
Cinquième étape – De Isaca (Mopti) à 6 à 9 kilomètres en aval
Sixième étape – De l'aval de Isaca aux environs de Saya

Des environs de Saya à l'amont du lac Débo
Septième étape –Des environs de Saya aux environs de Kotaka
Huitième étape –Des environs de Kotaka à l'aval de Cona (Kona)
Neuvième étape (1er jour) – De l’aval de Cona (Kona) à l’amont du lac Débo

De l’amont du lac Débo à Couma
Neuvième étape (2e jour) – De l’amont du lac Débo à Didhiover (Guindio-Saré)
Dixième étape – De Didhiover (Guindio-Saré) à Moujo (Kokoro ?)
Onzième étape – De Moujo (Kokoro) à Sa
Douzième étape – De Sa à Couma (Takou-Tala


More contents


Language(s): French

Publisher: Éditions Quae

Edition: 1st edition

Collection: Hors Collection

Published: 30 december 2008

Reference Book: 02108

Reference eBook [ePub]: 02108EPB

Reference eBook [PDF]: 02108NUM

EAN13 Book: 9782759202713

EAN13 eBook [ePub]: 9782759215362

EAN13 eBook [PDF]: 9782759202935

Interior: Two-colour

Format (in mm) Book: [NR]

Pages count Book: 176

Pages count eBook [PDF]: 176

Weight (in grammes): 335

Size: 22.9 MB (ePub), 50.4 MB (PDF)


--:-- / --:--